Health is wealth

Health is wealth

Today on the 24th of June 2014, I stepped outside my home for the first time after 3rd May 2014. The reason of being confined in the house was my 5th metatarsal of my left foot. It got fractured while I was climbing down the trail 3 after a very very long hike along Margalla Hills Islambad, Pakistan. I started on trail 5, then entered trail 4, and in the end I reached trail 3. From that point I reached the apex of trail 3 i.e., Monal Restaurant. After eating my lunch around 4 p.m. I started walking down trail 3 for Islamabad.  Somewhere in the middle of the trail I lost concentration and got ‘foot inversion’.

Copyright:http://myankle.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/inversion-vs-eversion-sprains/

Foot Inversion

Copyright of the photo belongs to :http://myankle.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/inversion-vs-eversion-sprains/

The treatment involves foot immobilization in plaster cast.  This was the most difficult sickness-time in my whole life. I spent 6 weeks in it and was not able to go outside of my house. Today I started to walk outside my home and plan to gradually increase this distance every day in the form of  my morning walk. But a long time is required to get back my ‘old, functional athletic foot’.

There are different stages in the recovery of foot fracture. First forms soft callus (soft join), then hard bony callus (bony join), then modelling (shaping) of the bone takes place according to the stress.  So I will again ‘shape’ my foot in accordance with my own life style. My life style is very simple. I am an athlete, hiker and plant hunter.

I pray to Almighty Allah to grant me a healthy and strong body.  Now, I know the value of a healthy body very well and I agree totally with the saying ‘health is wealth’.

 

By rashidhameed

Leave a Reply

